Our Board

  • Peter Gutwein, Chair
    Peter is the former Tasmanian Premier and Treasurer who chose to leave politics recently after a distinguished career serving the people of Tasmania.

    He has over 20 years’ experience in the Parliament of Tasmania representing the needs of Tasmanians. As a former Premier, Treasurer and senior Minister he understands our community and the economic and social challenges we face, as well as the opportunities that abound here in Tasmania.

    As a member of the National Cabinet, he was one of the 8 State and Territory leaders who, along with the Prime Minister set the broader national policy response to the pandemic.

    A former migrant himself arriving in Tasmania with his parents at four years of age he understands the richness that diverse backgrounds and different cultures bring to our state, as well as the challenges that new arrivals face.

    He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (MAICD), a company director and was a senior manager and a qualified financial planner prior to entering the Parliament. He enjoys spending time with his family and enjoys Australian rules football, reading and staying fit.

  • George Elkhair
    , Vice Chair –
    George holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors – MAICD and also a Fellow of CPA Australia with over 35 years of commerce/business experience. George currently sits on various boards and subcommittees for community-based organisations as well as private companies. He is involved in business mentoring in Tasmania and is a mentor to many individuals. George migrated from Egypt to Australia with his family when he was young, and is bi-lingual.

    He enjoys family time and has various sporting interests, including cricket and soccer.

  • Fahim Chowdhury, Treasurer –
    Fahim joined the Board in November 2020. He is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Fahim is a senior executive at a government business enterprise. He has experience as a non-executive director across a number of community based organisations and is currently on the board of a bank as an intern director. Originally from Bangladesh, he has a keen interest in Tasmania’s multicultural society. He is a passionate social cricketer and devotes his spare time towards the development of the game.
  • Daniela Ruiz, Secretary –

    Daniela is from Patagonia, Chile, and has lived in Australia since 2012. She has a Master’s in International Sustainable Tourism Management from Monash University and a Bachelor’s in Journalism and Marketing. She has eight years of experience in communications, marketing, and tourism, having worked in Tourism Tasmania for the past three years. More recently, Daniela joined the Department of State Growth as a Project Manager, Tourism. Daniela has extensive experience managing diverse projects, including training, development, operations, volunteer programs, and marketing partnerships, working with people from diverse backgrounds. Daniela has also worked in international student recruitment and as an international student ambassador. Daniela has worked in local council and state Government, bringing critical skills to the Board. Being a recent migrant and having lived experience as one, Daniela is committed to supporting the migrant community in Tasmania. Daniela loves the outdoors – especially waterfalls and sunsets – pasta, and a good glass of vino (Tassie Pinot is always her first choice).

  • Dr Tania Lado Insua
    , Board Member–
    Tania is native from Galicia (Spain). She is a doctor in ocean engineering with several years of experience in management. She is the Manager for Research and Partnerships for the Blue Economy Cooperative Research Centre and an Adjunct Professor at University of Victoria, BC, Canada. Tania has successfully led several multidisciplinary programs and teams with a diverse range of stakeholders. She has extensive experience in business development, finance and corporate operations, risk and change management. She has worked in academic, industry and not-for-profit strategic leadership roles in Australia, USA, Spain, and Canada. Tania is passionate about equity and culturally diverse communities.

  • Iha Diwan Patney,
    Board Member –
    Iha is a Senior Strategy Manager at the University of Tasmania, driving institutional societal impact, strategic planning, and insights. She implements a place-based, impact-led approach to the university’s strategy, aiming for better outcomes for Tasmania. With a Masters in International Development from Monash University, Iha’s passion for the international community arises from her diverse upbringing in Benin, New Zealand, India, and Australia. Through her personal experiences and working directly with communities, she understands the challenges and strengths of being a migrant. Iha strongly advocates for multiculturalism and promotes diversity in Tasmania, believing that we all contribute to its dividends. Committed to social inclusion, she strives for equal access to resources and connections that enhance well-being and productivity. Iha believes that caring, confident, and resilient individuals and communities are essential for preventing exclusion

    With over a decade of consulting experience, Iha excels at connecting people and organisations and bringing their ideas to life. Her passion lies in transforming insights into action, and she actively seeks diverse perspectives and stories. Iha’s curious nature drives her to empower individuals and foster collaboration to solve complex problems.




    Victor Stojcevski
    , Board Member –

    Victor has a Macedonian background and joined the Board in late 2017. He arrived in Tasmania from Victoria in 2004, and has a LLB (Hons)/BA (Hons) (majoring in English Literature). He has two daughters. He is Project Manager at the Magistrates Court of Tasmania. Victor’s varied background includes leadership roles within the justice sector, particularly in court and law reform and therapeutic jurisprudence, and in suicide prevention. Victor is a member of the Law Society of Tasmania and the Asia Pacific Coroners’ Society.

To communicate with the MRC Tas Board please email board@mrctas.org.au